“The High Road” CD

Hi! You probably know me from Herb Walks and as the host of workshops and the Ojai Herbal Symposium. I’m also a singer/songwriter steeped in political/social activism going back to my volunteer service in Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s SCOPE Project in the South in 1965. My album, “The High Road,” released in 2004, represents my worldview put to music. Some of the songs were originally written as far back as the late 1970s for use in Illusions Theatre productions in Ojai and Santa Barbara. Produced by Cody LePow and executive-produced by me and my brother Michael Kaufer, the album was recorded at Sound Asylum in Canoga Park by engineers David Williams and Steve Werbelow, mixed by Cody LePow and David Williams, and mastered by David Williams. In addition to special guest vocalist, the late June Pointer of the legendary Pointer Sisters, the recording features an A-list of Southern California’s musical and vocal talent.

You can listen to the songs, read the lyrics, and buy individual song downloads at this ReverbNation link or buy a download of the entire 12-song album at this Apple Music link. If you prefer a physical CD mailed to you, just scroll down this page to order one via PayPal. I’ll  be happy to sign it if you like.

Here’s the personnel list:

Cody LePow: producer

Lanny Kaufer: songwriter, vocals, harmonica (“Harrisburg”)
Bill Flores: acoustic and electric guitars, dobro, lap steel guitar, pedal steel guitar, mandolin, tenor saxophone, accordion
Jimmy Calire: keyboards, tenor and baritone saxophones
Jack Joshua: acoustic and electric bass
Bob Nichols: drums
Cody LePow: slide guitar, harmonica, percussion
Mark Parson: fiddle, flute
Burton Lang: congas, bongos, percussion
Bob Gothart: electric guitar (“Pass It On”, “Almost Over You”)
Michael DeTemple: electric guitar (“22nd Century”)
June Pointer: background vocals
Jonathan Clarke: background vocals
Mike Baker: background vocals (“The High Road”)
L. Wahpepah: background vocals (“The High Road”)
Wolf Wahpepah, L. Wahpepah, Sam McCoy, Lanny Kaufer: powwow drum

Arrangements: Cody LePow
Horn arrangements: Jimmy Calire

All songs ©2004 Lanny Kaufer except “Hard On My Heart” ©2004 Lanny Kaufer & Cody LePow

Album cover art by Ikoshy. (https://www.ikoshy.com)